Hey Fellas!

This one is for the guys…. Ladies, you are free to read and pass it along if you’d like.

Here’s a little story about my life as a child:

When I was growing up, my mom was the spiritual leader of my family. I grew up in a home with two much older brothers and one younger sister. We lived with our mom and our dad (for most of my young life, anyway). My mom was Pentecostal-Holiness. To this day I still have no clue exactly what that means. I can just remember that God was all about rules, everybody was going to Hell, and grace was something that I never heard about.

My dad was NOT a Christ follower. Not by any stretch of the imagination. So most Sundays we attended church with only our mom. My dad did other things.

Even though it was never said out loud, I hated church (I’m pretty sure that my siblings did as well). There was no amount of love for God that my  mom could demonstrate, that wasn’t quickly diminished by my dad’s demonstration of his love for other things. Needless to say, when we were old enough, my siblings and I all decided that following Jesus was not for us. For me, it stayed that way for over 15 years.

I still see this a lot today. Men…… DADS, deciding that getting in a round of golf is more important than joining their families in worship. Catching a few fish is more important than being the spiritual head of the family. Staying home and sleeping in is more important than teaching your children to be dedicated to Christ. There are many other things that take precedence, these are just a few examples.

In short, love of SELF is visibly demonstrated as being more important than love of CHRIST.

Your children are watching!

40c47fe5784f16923d5ed1a0f45df8bd

I can’t speak for every child who watched their dad put themselves before Christ as their mom struggled to teach them Christ-like values and morals. I can only speak for myself. I made a lot of unwise choices as a teenager and young adult. I can’t say for sure that I would not have made the same choices if my dad had been the spiritual head of our family, but I feel like I probably wouldn’t have.

Ephesians 6:4 tells FATHERS to raise their children in the discipline and instruction that comes from the Lord.

Why are we making our children’s mothers do our job while we care only about ourSELF??

Dads it’s time to step up to the plate! YOU should be praying for and WITH your children. YOU should be teaching them God’s commandments. YOU should be loving their mother in the way of Christ so that they know what a healthy relationship looks like. YOU should be reading the scriptures with them.

YOU, dad, should be a Godly example to your children in a world that is a sex-frenzied, credit-based, immediate-gratification rewarding promoter of the here and now type of SELF-love that tells us that there is no God! Or, if there is a God, golf is more important! Or fishing is more important! Or mowing the lawn is more important!

Deuteronomy 6:6-7 makes it very clear that we are to teach and discuss God’s word with our children. Why are we leaving this to chance?

Proverbs 22:6 tells us that if we teach our children when they are young, then they will not depart from that teaching when they are grown.

I think that Christian men need to step up. I think it’s time for us to be the men that our children need and deserve us to be. It’s a huge responsibility, and a huge honor!

To all my brothers who carry out God’s instructions in these areas, I appreciate you. Keep the faith. One day your efforts will be rewarded.

My family already prays circles around my nine-year-old daughter and my ten-month-old daughter. I pray that I am raising them correctly, and by God’s word. I pray that they honor God and honor themselves in everything that they ever do. We also pray circles around their future husbands, that even NOW these men are being raised by a mother and FATHER who teach them love, and respect, and honor that is Christ-like and Christ-centered.

One day they will be women. Then it will be too late for me to teach them.

I hope that if you have sons, you see the importance of this. I hope that if you have daughters, you take this concern seriously. They will learn who they are to be by either YOU or by this world. There isn’t any SELF-serving mission that outweighs the importance of this one.

To all of my sisters who are doing this on your own, I’m praying for you. I know it’s not easy. Please don’t fall into the trap of being okay with a man who doesn’t value a relationship with Christ. If you’re already in that relationship, pray for them daily. Don’t ever stop.

If you know someone who should be leading their family spiritually, but hasn’t decided to take this task as seriously as they should, talk to them, pray for them. It’s time for our dads to be Christian role models.

Your children are watching. What are they seeing?

your-children-are-watching-you

How can the church help dads become more active spiritual leaders?

How important are Godly men in the life of a child?

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

